Meet the Team

senior management team

Untitled design(74).png

Bridget Cooke, Co-Founder and Executive Director, bcooke@adelantemujeres.org
For over 25 years, Bridget has been working with nonprofits in Oregon, California and Chile. In 2002, she helped co-found programs for immigrant women and families that address key obstacles to justice and promote respect and dignity for all. Bridget obtained her B.A. in education from Western State University and a Masters of Divinity Degree from the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley. 

Untitled design(65).png

Kymberli Contreras, Assistant Director, kcontreras@adelantemujeres.org
Kymberli joined Adelante in February 2012. She is originally from Dallas, Texas and has a B.A. from Duke University and holds an MBA from Alfred University. Kymberli’s Professional background includes fundraising for academia and logistics coordination and program development for state government agencies in Oregon and New York.

Untitled design(47).png

Sue Rubin, Director of Finance and IT, srubin@adelantemujeres.org
Sue has worked with the organization for the past 8 years as part of the auditing team and as a consultant and volunteer. Sue is a CPA with an MBA from the University of Oregon and BA in English. She has extensive experience and expertise in payroll and non-profit consulting as well as an ethic and history of service and activism.

Untitled design(48).png

Sonia Reyes, Director of Human Resources, sreyes@adelantemujeres.org
Originally from Puerto Rico, Sonia is passionate about Human Resources since it allows her to serve as liaison between management and employees. Founder of the first Airway Science Student Association in the Caribbean, she encouraged young Latinas to enter the once male-dominated Aviation industry. She has over 5 years working with non-profit organizations and a Master’s Degree in Human Resources Management.

Untitled design(69).png

Evelyn Cantoral, Director of Development, ecantoral@adelantemujeres.org
Evelyn brings more than 10 years of nonprofit experience and more than 5 years of successful nonprofit fundraising and marketing experience to Adelante. Evelyn's background includes several years of international nonprofit experience in Central Africa, where she first discovered the power of visual storytelling to effect change. For Evelyn, working with Adelante Mujeres unites her passion for women's empowerment with her Latin American roots.

Untitled design(59).png

Maribel De Leon, Director of Microenterprise Programs, mdeleon@adelantemujeres.org
Originally from Dallas, Texas, Maribel graduated from Northwood University with a BBA in International Business. She has over 12 years experience in business advocacy and small business development. Her career includes serving as a business advisor with the Small Business Development Center; leading the procurement division of a Hispanic Chamber of Commerce; and co-founding a film production company. In 2013 she was a recipient of the Dallas Business Journal's 40 under 40 awards. 

Untitled design(52).png

Patricia Alvarado, Director of Education Programs, palvarado@adelantemujeres.org
Patricia is originally from Guadalajara, Jalisco and comes to Adelante with over 17 years of experience and a passion for working with children, youth, and families in the Latino community. Patricia has an AA in Early Childhood Education and Families Studies from PCC, a BA in Social Science from PSU, and an MA in Educational Leadership and Policy from PSU with a focus on Post-secondary Adult and Continuing Education. Patricia is the courageous leader of Adelante’s Education department.

 

Development

Untitled design(80).png

Andrea Chunga-Celis, Grants Manager, achungacelis@adelantemujeres.org
Andrea Chunga-Celis completed her Master’s Degree in International Studies from the University of Connecticut. Previously, she worked in human rights organizations in New York and Peru. Her passion has been to work for non-profit organizations and to build strong local communities with the aim of providing opportunities for all individuals.

Untitled design(76).png

Anne Morse, Grants Specialist, amorse@adelantemujeres.org
Anne joined Adelante Mujeres in December 2008. Originally from Southeast Alaska, she has lived abroad in Tranqueras, Uruguay, and Santiago, Chile. Anne obtained her B.A. in Politics and Latin American Studies from Oberlin College.

Untitled design(44).png

Rose Walker, Grants Officer, rwalker@adelantemujeres.org
Rose joined the Development Team at Adelante Mujeres in October, 2017. She has more than 10 years of experience working with non-profit organizations as a program manager, mostly focusing on providing nutrition and educational services to low-income families. She has a B.A. in English Literature and a Master of Divinity Degree. 

Untitled design(78).png

Anna Yeager, Marketing Manager, ayeager@adelantemujeres.org
Anna has been producing documentary films and video for nonprofits for over 10 years. Originally from the Midwest, she has a degree in Film/Video Production from Columbia College Chicago. Her work has been featured on Good Morning America, Huffington Post, Upworthy and nationwide film festivals. Anna is thrilled to be helping women rise up and reach for their dreams at Adelante Mujeres. 

Untitled design(57).png

Melissa Erickson, Corporate Engagement Officer, merickson@adelantemujeres.org
Melissa grew up in Philadelphia, PA and attended Emerson College in Boston for a BA in Writing, Literature, and Publishing. She moved to Oregon in 2010 to attend OSU and get her masters Degree in Applied Anthropology to learn how to better help people of different cultures. She completed her thesis research in Ecuador looking at how to better include the needs of communities in the Cloud Forest in conservation efforts.

Untitled design(54).png

Onelia Hawa, Volunteer & Events Coordinator, ohawa@adelantemujeres.org
Born to a Cuban mother and Lebanese father, Onelia is a first-generation American from Atlanta, GA. She spent the last five years migrating throughout the Deep South writing articles about immigration and organizing communities to fight for immigrant rights in the Mississippi Delta. Onelia graduated from the University of Southern Mississippi with a bachelor's degree in journalism and nonprofit studies.

 

Adult Education

Untitled design(84).png

Yasi Lemus Isla, Adult Education Program Manager, ylemusisla@adelantemujeres.org
Yasi is originally from Cuba and holds a degree in Agricultural Engineering from the Agricultural University of Havana. She moved to Oregon in 2011 and became an instructor at Portland Community College where she worked with the Hispanic Community and taught a variety of subjects, including math, science, reading, writing, social studies and computer skills

Untitled design(43).png

Alexandra Nahill, Adult Education Family Engagement Coordinator,anahill@adelantemujeres.org
Alexandra Nahill has been working as an educator in Oregon for 10 years. She has taught English, Physical Education, Yoga and Nature studies to children and adults. She had been a preschool director of the Nature Kids Preschool in Beaverton and a Bilingual Educator in the Hillsboro School District. She has a degree in Biology and worked for many years with sea turtles in Costa Rica and Colombia.

Untitled design(83).png

Lupe Hernandez, Beyond Trauma Coordinator, lhernandez@adelantemujeres.org
Born in Mexico but raised in Texas, Lupe returned to Mexico in 1996 and co-founded “Help-Restore-Transform”, a program which works to address educational barriers and improve self-worth among women and children in the community.  She moved to Oregon in 2017 to continue her work on empowerment and justice issues.

 

Early Childhood Education

Untitled design(45).png

Yamel Olivas Solis, Early Childhood Education Program Manager, yolivas@adelantemujeres.org
Yamel is originally from Mexico and graduated as a Preschool Education Teacher from “Escuela Normal del Estado.” She began her career at the Oregon Child Development Coalition. Pursuing more education, in 2006 she obtained an Associate’s degree in Early Childhood Education from Portland Community College. Her 30 years of experience have taught her the importance of education for parents and families because they serve as the children’s first teacher.

Untitled design(51).png

Rosalia Dominquez, Early Childhood Education Teacher rdominguez@adelantemujeres.org
Rosalia joined Adelante in 2002 and has been working with young children ever since. She loves working with 1-3 year olds and brings her passion for education and love of nature to the classroom to share with her students.

Untitled design(62).png

Maria Esther Rizo, Early Childhood Education Teacher, mrizo@adelantemujeres.org
Mari joined Adelante in 2002. She is originally from Jalisco, Mexico and came to the US in 1996. Mari has a real gift for music, which she shares with the children in her classroom. She leads weekly music classes for all the children and their moms and everyone has a great time singing, dancing, and playing percussion instruments.

Untitled design(56).png

Norma Hernandez, Early Childhood Education Teacher nhernandez@adelantemujeres.org
Norma has studied child development extensively, and believes that education is fundamental to the development of a community. Norma is inspired by children and young adults because she believes in their potential. She strongly believes that we all must join together to create opportunities that will allow for change in our actual reality.

29572874_10216592245777770_5982156919361331911_n.jpg

Alejandra Leudo, Early Childhood Education Substitute Teacher, aleudo@adelantemujeres.org
Alejandra is originally from Antioquia, Colombia. She graduated from the Universidad Cooperativa de Columbia with a degree in graphic design. She is passionate about design and is trained to produce functional design pieces. She loves children and has experience developing campaigns for them.

Untitled design(77).png

Ángeles Pineda, Instructional Aide, apineda@adelantemujeres.org
Ángeles is originally from the State of Guerrero, Mexico but spent her early childhood in Michoacan and Mexico City. There she studied International Relations at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM). She loves working with children and their families who are in her classroom and she’s proud of being a part of the Adelante Mujeres Team! 

 

Immigrant Solidarity Project

Untitled design(70).png

Cristina Delgado, Immigrant Solidarity Project Coordinator, cdelgado@adelantemujeres.org
Cristina is a proud first generation immigrant. She grew up in Washington County and has lived in Oregon for more than 20 years. She graduated from Oregon State University with a BA in Political Science and a Minor in Philosophy, and her work experience includes leadership development with youth and adults, social service and education.

Untitled design(53).png

Petrona Dominguez Francisco, Advocacy & Leadership Program Coordinator,
pdominguez@adelantemujeres.org
Petrona is a first generation, DACAmented, college student. Born in the beautiful tierra de Guatemala, she has lived in the Washington County community for over 17 years, working passionately on various issues such as advocating for sanctuary, a DREAMers Resource Center, and most recently, advocating for an Ethnic Studies Course at Portland Community College.

 

Chicas Youth Development

Untitled design(63).png

Leticia Aguilar, Chicas Youth Development Program Manager, laguilar@adelantemujeres.org
Leticia joined Adelante Mujeres in November of 2009. She is originally from Mexico and moved to the United States when she was twelve years old. In January 2014, she will be getting her A.A. in Organizational Dynamics from Warner Pacific College.

Untitled design(75).png

Araceli Mendez , Chicas Program Coordinator, amendez@adelantemujeres.org
Araceli is originally from San Diego, California and graduated from the University of Redlands with a Bachelor's degree in Spanish Literature. Aside from her deep passion for fúbol, she is also dedicated to working with nonprofit organizations, and especially with Latino youth and families. She joins Adelante Mujeres with over 8 years of experience in youth development and community outreach.

Untitled design(72).png

Carina Quintanilla , Chicas Project Coordinator, cquintanilla@adelantemujeres.org
Carina joined Adelante after graduating from the University of Oregon in 2017 with a degree in International Studies. Carina is so excited to be able to work with an organization that embodies everything she is passionate about – empowering women, providing opportunities to the Latino community, and educating youth!  

Untitled design(60).png

Maria Diego, Youth Facilitator and Project Developer, mdiego@adelantemujeres.org
Maria has nine years of experience working with youths ages 6-18. She enjoys working in the Latino community. Her goal and passion is to help students from all ages be engaged with the community, make plans for their future and to help them transition to adulthood. She is currently attending Portland Community College full time to become an Elementary Teacher.

Untitled design(79).png

Angela Valenzuela, Youth Facilitator and Project Developer, avalenzuela@adelantemujeres.org
Originally from Sinaloa, Mexico, Angela grew up in north Portland. She graduated in 2016 from Washington State University Vancouver with a B.A. in Humanities with a Primary Focus in English and Secondary Focus in Sociology, as well as with a Minor in Spanish. Angela joins Adelante Mujeres with five years of experience working with youth and families providing educational services.

Untitled design(73).png

Brianda Regalado, Youth Facilitator and Project Developer bregalado@adelantemujeres.org
Brianda was born and raised in Oregon. At a young age she discovered her passion for Early Childhood Education and dreamt of teaching in a Third World Country. Brianda studied Education at Western Oregon University and, after a gap year, she is currently finishing her BA in Education at Portland State University.

Untitled design(71).png

Carmen Walsh, Youth Facilitator and Project Developer, cwalsh@adelantemujeres.org
Carmen joined Adelante Mujeres after working as a Preschool Teacher’s Assistant for 5 years. Her roots are Mexican and Irish and she is very proud to be multi-cultural. Carmen graduated from PSU with a Bachelor’s in International Studies and minor in Spanish. When Carmen isn’t spending time with her family and loving on her godchild, she is either sipping on something warm whilst reading/writing or throwing on an old t-shirt on to paint how she is feeling.

Untitled design(67).png

Itzel Chavez Gomez, Youth Facilitator and Project Developer, ichavez@adelantemujeres.org
Itzel has over five years of experience in youth mentorship and advocacy and has a background in sexual violence prevention education. She completed her BA in General Social Science with a concentration in Crime, Law and Society from the University of Oregon. With her knowledge of sociology and ethnic studies and her drive for social equity, social justice and anti-oppression, her passion is to work in communities that foster growth for youth.

Untitled design(50).png

Sandra Ambrosio, Youth Facilitator and Project Developer, sambrosio@adelantemujeres.org
Sandra is a recent graduate from Portland State University where she received a BA in International Studies along with a BA in Sociology. Some of Sandra’s passions include environmental justice, sustainability, food justice, social justice, political advocacy, and feminism. She sees the intersections in all of these which is why Sandra truly believes that working toward empowering local communities is a powerful tool for the change we need.

 

Empresas Small Business Development

Untitled design(68).png

Javier Urenda, Empresas Small Business Program Manager, jurenda@adelantemujeres.org
Javier joined Adelante in May 2013. He is originally from Mexico and has over 10 years of experience working with the Latino community through non-profit organizations. Javier holds a degree in Civil Engineering from Mexico and an Associates Degree from Portland Community College.

Untitled design(85).png

Daniela Ortiz, Empresas Coach and Training Specialist, dortiz@adelantemujeres.org
Daniela was born in Tijuana, B.C., Mexico, and was raised in San Diego, California, where she graduated from SDCC with an Associates in Business Administration. She is currently finishing up her BA in Cultural Anthropology. Daniela is passionate about entrepreneurship, financial literacy, and working with the Latinx community.

Untitled design(55).png

Odalis Aguilera, Food Business Program Coordinator, oaguilera@adelantemujeres.org
Odalis graduated from Portland State University with a BA in Business Administration, Marketing, and a certificate of Athletic and Outdoor Industry. She joined Adelante Mujeres in March of 2019 after having volunteered in our Chicas summer soccer camp and Forest Grove Farmers Market. She has a passion for futbol and helping the community that serves her family.

 

Nourish The Community

Kaely Summers, Nutrition and Farmers Market Manager, ksummers@adelantemujeres.org
Kaely joined Adelante in 2011. Originally from Tacoma, Washington, she has lived abroad in Peru and is a former AmeriCorps VISTA volunteer. Kaely is a graduate of Pacific University in Forest Grove, OR, and has a deep interest in nutrition and food systems.

Untitled design(58).png

Mayra Hernandez, Farmers Market & Nutrition Coordinator, mhernandez@adelantemujeres.org
In 2004, Mayra Hernandez became a student in our Adult Education program and received her GED.  Mayra then began her career in childcare and started studying to receive her Child Development Associate Credential, which she earned in 2006. Mayra joined Adelante Mujeres in 2011 and has worked in our preschool as well as with our Forest Grove Farmers Market and our Produce Rx initiative.

 

Sustainable Agriculture

Untitled design(81).png

Alejandro Tecum, Sustainable Agriculture Education Manager, atecum@adelantemujeres.org
Alejandro is originally from Guatemala and moved to Oregon in 1999. He joined Adelante Mujeres in 2002 working as a Mathematics and Spanish teacher. In 2005, he initiated the Adelante Mujeres Agricultural program.

Untitled design(49).png

Silvia Cuesta , Farm Business and Distributor Manager, scuesta@adelantemujeres.org  
Silvia, who is originally from Oaxaca Mexico, moved to the United States in her early teens. She has experience as an organic farmer and small business owner. Silvia strongly believes that education is fundamental to the devleopment of the community and providing such opportunities will allow for change and growth within the Latino families Adelante Mujeres' serves. 


2Z5A7313.jpgs.jpg
 

We have an amazing and dedicated board of directors who work hard to push our mission forward.